top of page

Ah, the Christmas Carols

I have never thought about my favorite part of Christmas before.

It used to be the presents, most likely.

But the good ones usually come from my parents, and they don't need to give me any.

It could've been the food.

Mashed potatoes and casseroles are amazing, but old apples and sandwiches are good, too.

Maybe it was the decorations.

Driving around and looking at lights is a fun Christmas tradition, but it isn't necessary.

Perhaps it was the Christmas PJs.

Those are nice, but my gray pants with the holes in 'em are more comfortable.

The ugly Christmas sweaters, maybe?

Those are cute, but you can only wear them once a year!

No, it was almost definitely my family.

I love them to death, but maybe one day I could live without them.

But now, it is different.

It is none of those things, however amazing they may be.

It's the Christmas hymns.

And wouldn't that be beautiful?

Without fancy gifts, the day-long-to-cook-food, the blinding decorations, the fuzzy Christmas clothes, and a hearty family, yet a voice and the stars to help you worship God?

I'd give up all these amazing, wonderful things if only I can sing to baby Jesus.

Just let me fall to my knees and hear the angel's voices.

Let me ask Mary if she knew.

Let my call to all ye faithful.

Let me plead with Jesus to ransom captive Israel.

Let me sing about the silent night.

Let me sing glory to the newborn King.

Let me tell the story of three kings of Orient.

Let me ask what Child is this?

Let me sing of the Son that unto us is given.

Let me tell the good Christian men to rejoice.

Let me sing of the First Noel.

Let sing of the little Lord Jesus asleep on the hay.

Let me call to come adore Him.

Let me sing joy to the world.

Oh, let me sing to baby Jesus with all my heart, and everything will be alright.


__________


Word Count: 337

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page