top of page

Not Again

"I said boat. You were supposed to use the boat to cross the river." "I know, but the catapult was so much faster." Conner stared at Sam, a million thoughts racing under his sun-burnt scalp. Did Sam realize how dangerous that was? And moreover, stupid? Flying a freaking catapult over the river? What would possess her to do that? Sam flipped her dark hair and casually started pulling off her harness before a volunteer rushed over to properly help her. Conner's friend started arguing with the volunteer, instructing her on the proper technique for taking off a harness. Conner turned around, walking in a circle, running his hand through his hair. He had spent so much time on this trip, planning out all the details. Every stop, every visit, their transportation, even the safest spots to pee. He was going to make sure Sam stayed safe and accounted for. He really didn't want another Himalayan incident... "Relax, Conner. It's not like I died or anything." Conner let out a high-pitched squeak. "I had a harness on..." "Which was connected to what?" "... And just look at the size of the trampoline I landed on!" His knees wobbled just a little. "Besides, you ran off to do some crazy hero stuff..." "A woman was choking. What was I supposed to do?? Stand there?" "... And left me unsupervised! Shame on you." He groaned and closed his eyes. Sam clicked her tongue and started walking away, through the Amazonian market destination. She ooh-ed and aww-ed over every item she saw. Conner... just kind of followed behind in a panicked stupor. "OOOH!" Sam exclaimed, jumping up and down. "What is it this time?" Conner cried. "Look look looklooklook!" "There are a thousand things in this market, can you just tell me what it is?" Sam shrieked. "ALLIGATOR WRESTLIIIIIIING!!" Connor's jaw dropped. "I didn't even know they had alligators in the Amazon," he mumbled. Sam dragged Connor toward the sketchy-looking sign and smoking man advertising alligator wrestling. "Come ON!" "Not again..."

 

I recently took part in a Writing Camp and this is one of the pieces I wrote. The first two lines were a prompt I was given to help develop the rest of the story. Side note: Connor and Sam are two people in the camp, which made for an interesting read.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page