top of page

This Passion and This Soul

My pencils call to me, begging to be opened. My sketchbook waits, seeing what beauty we can create. It starts out as a messy sketch, the lines wrong and the details missing. But, take a few minutes. I can create a world that only I can see. We can make a lifeless page into a reality. We can create new worlds, wondrous worlds, my pencils, sketchbook, and I. We create worlds where dragons rule the air, creatures command the sea, on the land dwells people and animals free of hate and selfishness. We can make the unseen seen. My voice, I’ve been told, is beautiful. It’s deep and soulful. I sing those songs of love. Of forgiveness. Those songs that could make the storm clouds shiver and run. You have to hear me, I’m too loud for you not too. Those songs are trapped in my lungs, scrambling up my throat. Even if I wanted to contain them, I can’t. They must be free, and they must free. I sing those songs that only a Christian can sing. Those songs that tell of Jesus’s love and forgiveness, of His wondrous works.Those songs that allow me to not care who listens. I belt it out, my heart and soul flowing out of my mouth with the words of those songs into the heavens. I must write. I must. I can’t keep these words trapped inside me. I yearn for my keyboard, I love to sit with a pencil and paper. I write words that defy the norm, go against the stream. I write the words that no one else may agree with. I write the words of God. I write with conviction in my soul. I write with passion in my heart. I write words of love and peace, of forgiveness. I write words of sadness, anger, peace, and joy. I can make you think and I can make you squirm. I can rejoice with you, and I can cry with you. These words are who I am, in black and white. These words are everything. I am Savanna. I will draw until my pencils are nubs, sing until my voice is gone, write until my finger are numb. I will do all things through Christ who strengthens me. I cannot- will not- be silenced.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page